Home school or Homeschool?

October 16, 2007 at 8:45 pm 7 comments

Over at the HSA website, there’s a discussion going on over whether it’s more accurate to spell “homeschool” as one word or as two (home schooled). I personally prefer for it to remain one word, and gave my thoughts on the matter. Here’s my two cents on the matter, if you’d like some spare change…

Back in the day, when this was the big discussion amongst the state organizations, I gave it a little thought and decided that I prefer “homeschool” as one word. My reasoning is that homeschooling is a lifestyle choice, not simply school at home. If the purpose of homeschooling were to duplicate school at home, then two words would work well “home schooled” = “schooled at home.” But since school/learning/education is something that most of us incorporate into our daily lives, merging the academic with the art of living, which is done from the center, the heart, of the family – the home – separating the idea into two distinct words seems to argue against the whole meaning of the decision to keep our children at home. Perhaps the creation of a new word would capture this mindset more accurately but, since we have a set line-up of words and phrases to choose from (home school, homeschool, home educate, etc.), “homeschool” seems, to me, the best expression of this home and family-centered lifestyle.

(And, according to the dictionary, it’s accurate. Very Happy)

So, there you have my thoughts on it. What about you? Do you prefer “home educate,” “home school” or “homeschool”? Or perhaps something different all together?

Entry filed under: Devotions and Thoughts, Homeschool, Life. Tags: .

India 2008 Can You Read These Correctly Aloud – The First Time?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sneakishmagoo  |  October 17, 2007 at 12:15 am

    I just stumbled onto your blog but wanted to say I agree 100% with you. We’re a homeschooling family and it drives me bonkers when the spell-check tells me I’m wrong. lol

    Reply
  • 2. christine  |  October 17, 2007 at 12:17 am

    I use “homeschool” and “home education.” Both of them mean that my house is a wreck and we’re all super happy!

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  October 18, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    I like homeschool together as one word myself!

    Reply
  • 4. Sarah Rainsberger  |  November 4, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    An excellent question! I personally tend to like one word because my spell checker wants to make it two, and I like to rebel! :D

    But seriously, I think you’re absolutely right about homeschooling being a lifestyle choice, and something separate from just school at home.

    I’ve been looking into this myself because I have issues knowing what to put on my website — I want it to be found by people doing web searches so that they can find the information I need, but I also want it to be “correct” if there is a correct way.

    Reply
  • 5. Susan Lee  |  May 30, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    I use the word homeschool.

    Reply
  • 6. Chris  |  March 4, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    My son is writing a college paper on homeschooling and that is why I am on this blog. We have been talking about the spelling for days. I decided that the word is homeschool because it is like the word homesick and others. His exposition professor is really picky and I noticed that she used home school when she emailed him back about his subject. I will let you know what she says when he turns in his paper, “Why Do Parents Choose to homeschool their Children?” By the way, KEEP UP THE GOOD PARENTING=HOMESCHOOLING. He is a Sophomore in Pre-med with a 4.0 and got a full scholarship. He was also homeschooled!! Homeschooling is great!!

    Reply
  • 7. Mom  |  September 14, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    Merriam-Webster and Encyclopedia Britannica both spell it HOMESCHOOL (one word). I like your philosophy and I’ve spelled it as one word in all my books for the same reason. I don’t think of myself as a home schooler; I am a homeschooler. It’s not just an educational philosophy; it’s a lifestyle choice. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

