Vacuum Cleaner Prayer

October 25, 2007 at 11:31 pm 1 comment

I’ve heard all sorts of “tricks” and ideas for turning a less-than-pleasurable household chore into one that’s more enjoyable. And for the last 15+ years since I first learned to vacuum, I’ve loathed the task. I’d rather clean the refrigerator, scour the kitchen floor by hand, AND scrub the toilets.

I’ve tried singing. Playing praise music. Memorizing Scripture while I worked. Asking God to help me enjoy the task. Thinking about how grateful I am for a house to vacuum and a vacuum cleaner that works (well…at least most of the time 🙂 ). Nothing ever worked. I still hated the job and every single time I pulled out the vacuum cleaner my heart would sink.

This evening I tried something new, without even thinking about what I was doing. It just sort of happened, I was three-quarters of the way through the house before I realized that I was actually vacuuming and almost done and, not only was I not despising the task, but I was almost enjoying it! Wow!

So what exactly did I do?  For starters, I started praying before I opened the pantry door to pull out the vacuum cleaner. But I believe what really helped is that I wasn’t praying for myself, I was praying for a friend. When I plugged in the vacuum cleaner my thoughts weren’t on me…they were on someone else.

What a simple concept! Why did it take me this long to discover that I could put it into practice while vacuuming? That I’ll never know, but I’m so glad I’ve realized it now! 🙂 The next time I need to pull out the vacuum cleaner you can be certain I’ll be praying for someone else!

“The trouble with you, Anne, is that you’re thinking too much about yourself. You should just think of Mrs. Allan and what would be nicest and most agreeable for her,” said Marilla, hitting for once in her life on a very sound and pithy piece of advice.

Entry filed under: Devotions and Thoughts, Homemaking, Life.

Holiday Traditions Frugal Fridays – clothing swap

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  October 27, 2007 at 1:34 am

    Thanks for the great reminder, how much easier and pleasureable life is when we focus on others instead of ourselves.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds


