FreeRice.com

November 25, 2007 at 2:17 pm 1 comment

I came across a website yesterday that I wanted to share with y’all. It’s called Freerice.com and the purpose of the site is to send rice to people in third-world countries . . . while helping site visitors boost their vocabulary!

When you open the page, you’ll be presented with a vocabulary word followed by multiple choice answers. After you answer the first three questions the system will determine your starting vocabulary and will give you new words according to that level of difficulty. Get three in a row right and you’ll move up a level. Miss one and you’ll be bumped down. And for each vocabulary word you get right, FreeRice will send 10 grains of rice to someone in a third-world country!

Increase your vocabulary and help feed the needy at the same time!

There are 50 difficulty levels, though the site FAQ’s mention that most people don’t make it over level 48. I played for about 5-10 minutes, answered 20 of 23 questions correctly, and was at level 39 when I had to stop to take care of some chores. When my mom stopped after some 3000 grains of rice, she was at level 45. Let me know how high you get!

Entry filed under: Food, Fun.

Fall Photos Thanksgiving place cards

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. bonnie  |  November 28, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    I love this website! Thank you so much for leading me to it! If it’s okay – I want to write about this on my blog as well – linking to your blog – so that we can continue to spread the word about this program. i’m also going to put you on my blogs to read list – I can’t wait to come back! thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds


