Bibles for the Children

December 11, 2007 at 9:16 pm 3 comments

What a beautiful day I’ve had! God has provided all the finances I need to purchase Bibles for the children in the orphanages. Care to hear the story? Sit down with me and I’ll start at the beginning . . .

Two weeks ago I sent out a mass e-mail to friends and family members who have been interested in my India updates in past years. This note informed them of my upcoming trip and invited them to sign up for the new e-newsletter I’ve set up to send updates from India while I’m gone this coming year.

When Becky received this e-mail she immediately wrote me back to see what sort of financial help I might need. I let her know that the Lord has taken care of my personal finances for the trip, but that there were two needs for the children. One, basic toiletries and such for the children who will be attending the VBS and two, Bibles for each and every one of the children at the two orphanages.

You see, out of the 190 children at the two homes, only a small handful of these sweet little ones actually own their own Bibles. And those few who do have to share with their siblings. I can think of no greater blessing to give these precious children than the Word of God in their native tongue. I know how deeply they love the Lord and how tremendously Bibles will bless them. So I shared this desire with Becky.

She wrote me again, letting me know that her church would like to help cover the cost of the Bibles. I mistakenly told her there were approximately 150 children at the homes and gave her a guesstimate on the amount of the Bibles. She assured me it would be covered and asked me to come share at their church. Today was the date was agreed upon.

This morning, armed with photos, a Telugu Bible, and lots of prayer, I arrived at the church. In speaking with Becky and Jim before the service I let them know that the number of children was actually 40 more than I had thought. Jim said that the church had written me a check for the original number, but that he would let the people know that the need was a little greater.

Praise and worship was beautiful. Prayer time was exquisite. Then Jim prayed for me before introducing me to the church, asking the Lord to give me peace since he and Becky know how I don’t care to speak in front of large groups that don’t consist solely of children. He introduced me at last and I took the microphone . . . and began to cry. Not from fear or bashfulness, mind you, but from the emotions welling up in soul at the mention of the precious country I love so much.

I spoke for 5-10 minutes, sharing a brief history of my love affair with India and how I came to be involved with Bless India Ministries. Then I told the church about the children. How they rise at 5:00 every morning to pray and worship the Lord for an hour before they begin the rest of their day. That these children desire to become pastors, teachers, doctors, and politicians. That they are the future of India . . . ambassadors for our Lord. And yet they have so little that they lack many of the simple things we take for granted . . . including Bibles. How much more powerful and well equipped these dear children will be when they are able to arm themselves with the Word of God without having to wait for someone to read it to them in chapel or in church. They’ll be able to read it themselves and search the Scripture for truth, not relying on another man’s understanding of it, but allowing the Holy Spirit to speak His truth to them individually as they spend time poring over the Word.

I’m not certain how these beautiful people understood anything I said . . . even the microphone didn’t seem to amplify my tiny voice sufficiently, and my tears seemed to drown out the words that forced their way out of my lips. But, somehow, God used me to speak His words and the message was heard.

When I returned to the table Becky had helped me set up with my photographs and such, the people of that little church poured over to where I stood. The women came up and hugged me, tears glistening in their own eyes. The men shook my hand fervently. They thanked me for sharing . . . and I was blessed by seeing how faithful the Lord is to use us when we let Him. Timid as I am, He used my mouth to speak the words He wanted those people to hear. It blessed me to see them so touched. To hear them all promise that they would be praying for me and for the children.

And then the Lord blessed me through those dear people yet again . . .

as they passed by me, people pressed checks and bills into my hands. The Bibles were paid for. One small woman speaking to one small church . . . both used by one mighty God.

He is faithful.

Entry filed under: Devotions and Thoughts, Life.

Freebies for Little Ones Frugal Fridays: e-savings account

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  December 12, 2007 at 9:11 am

    Oh, how great is our God! It’s so amazing how He supplies all we need and more 🙂
    Don’t worry about getting emotional infront of the church – I did the same when I was talking about a mission trip back to Vanuatu. It’s good for people to see how much of a burden you have for the children in India.
    And God obviously used it to touch the people you were talking to.

    Reply
  • 2. Amber  |  December 13, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    Lady in Waiting, you have blessed my soul. Now that I’m on here, I don’t even remember how I found your blog, but I’m SO glad I did.
    I am a stay-at-home daughter who has been praying for God to show her that there really ARE other daughters in the world who have chosen family above career. Not only do I see that you are a stay-at-home daughter, but……oh this overwhelms me ….
    …you love India.
    I, too, have a burden on my heart for that country, ‘specially the children. I have never been there, only prayed for it.
    I also feel a burden to buy Bibles for Christians in countries where Bibles are rare. I have bought Bibles for some in Peru, but I really have no contacts in India, where I want to help the most.
    When I read your post about getting Bibles for children in India, I simply wept. I don’t know you, but I am just so glad there is someone out there caring.
    Thanks.
    And thank You, Abba.

    Reply
  • 3. seo consultant  |  February 25, 2008 at 8:20 am

    ya ..thats how God gives us chances to distribute your goodness among others.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds


