Frugal Friday – Rebates

July 25, 2008 at 12:13 pm 1 comment

I’ve been looking at the various drugstore programs and specials – CVS Extra Care Bucks, Rite-Aid Rebates, Walgreen’s coupons, etc. – and have slowly begun trying out a few.

So far I have a CVS card, but haven’t been real impressed with the pricing I’ve found – even with ECB offers and coupons. I did, however, have a good trip to Rite-Aid last week. I bought:

  • 1 bottle Infusium shampoo
  • 2 bottles Herbal Essence shampoo
  • 1 tube of Crest toothpaste (with a travel sized-toothpaste and dental floss included free)
  • 2 packs Bic pens

The pens were on sale 2 packs for $1, but I had a coupon for $1 off two packs. Price: FREE

The Crest toothpaste was on sale for $2.49. I had a coupon for $1 off, making it $1.49. Rite-Aid offered a rebate for $1.74. Price: -$0.25

Both kinds of shampoo were on sale and I had coupons for those as well. Then they had rebates. Price: FREE

RiteAid has a single check rebate program that’s done online, so it’ll all come in one check and I don’t have to pay any postage. So, I did have to pay a bit out-of-pocket, but once I get my rebate check I’ll have actually made $0.25!

This week we didn’t get a paper and I didn’t do any hunting online for coupons. But I looked at the drugstore circulars online and decided to go to Walgreen’s while I was in town. My niece’s birthday is coming up so I bought her a pack of Crayola washable doodling markers that was on sale for $2 – and has a $2 rebate. And I used the coupons from their flyer (available in the store) to buy mini-composition notebooks for some gift baskets I’m putting together. Each notebook was only $0.05.

I don’t do the grocery shopping, but I enjoy finding bargains and passing them on to Mom – and getting the practice so I know the game when I DO obtain the position of primary grocery shopper for my household. 🙂

Weekly circulars are available for viewing online (typically each Sunday), so even if you don’t get a paper you can see where the best deals are.

For more Frugal Friday ideas, visit Biblical Womanhood.

Entry filed under: Freebies, Homemaking, Life, Sales, Savings. Tags: , , , , , .

Purity Balls Back from Kentucky

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Brooke  |  July 25, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    we don’t have a rite aid here, but i take advantage of CVS and Walgreens deals. You definitely have to start slowly with both of them to avoid spending excess out of pocket. good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds


