27 Days of Thanksgiving – Day 1

November 1, 2008 at 12:03 am Leave a comment

Day 1 – Blessing Book/Gratitude Journal

I used to have one of these and I wrote in it each night before I went to sleep. Over the past several years it’s gotten shuffled around, buried amongst stacks of books, and eventually packed away. Today I’m pulling out a fresh journal and starting over.

So what exactly is a blessing book or a gratitude journal? It’s a blank book, file box with index cards, or something else long-lasting that you can use daily, weekly, or spontaneously to jot down things you’re thankful for, things you’re grateful the Lord has blessed you with.

You don’t have to record something different each time – I think my old journal had several entries in a row that said how grateful I was for my family. Your notes don’t have to be super-spiritual either; One of the things I remember writing was “chocolate chip cookies.” I truly was thankful for them! πŸ™‚ Write what you’re grateful for that particular day, or that particular moment.

In addition to cultivating a spirit of gratefulness, blessing books can be tremendous encouragements on those dreary days when we just feel as though nothing is quite working out. Glancing back through the pages, seeing all the blessings the Lord has poured on us, can lift us out of the depths of despair and remind us: β€œIn everything give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

Now I’m off to grab a fresh journal and begin a new blessing book. My very first entry will be: I’m thankful that the Lord’s mercies are new every morning!

What are you doing today to cultivate or share a heart of gratitude? Link here to your blog entry!

Entry filed under: Devotions and Thoughts, Holidays, Life. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Restaurant.com special – today only! 27 Days of Thanksgiving – Day 2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Feeds


