27 Days of Thanksgiving – Days 9 & 10

November 10, 2008 at 7:35 pm Leave a comment

27-days-of-thanksgiving

My apologies for the tardiness of this post. Between working on the house and having an ear infection, I’ve just not set aside the time to update my blog. I’ll try to be better about the next couple weeks!

Our Soldiers

I don’t know about you, but every time I see a soldier in uniform I want to run up and thank him profusely for serving our country. Some days I do. And I usually start do cry as I do so. Most days my bashfulness takes over and I just wish I had the courage to speak up. What amazes me is the smile it puts on a soldier’s face to know that he’s appreciated. I need to work on overcoming that shyness and expressing my thanks more often. What our soldiers do for us is definitely more of a sacrifice than me taking a moment to step out of my comfort zone.

Why don’t you take a moment today to thank a soldier, too. You can even do it without leaving your house! Here are some links to various ways you can express your gratitude to the men (and the women) who lay down their lives for yours and mine every day. It’s because of them that we still enjoy the freedoms of this country and live in safety. Let’s not let them go unappreciated.

Let’s Say Thanks – Select a greeting card designed by a child, enter your message, and hit “send.” Xerox will print your card and deliver it to a soldier.

Adopt A Platoon – Adopt a solider, or a whole platoon, and send him letters or care packages.

Give 2 The Troops – Help send care packages to our soldiers overseas.

A Million Thanks – Send a thank-you letter to a soldier.

donate a phone card – Support our troops by helping them call home.

Blessing Book Day 9: A healthy, happy family who loves each other.

Blessing Book Day 10: Our soldiers.

What are you doing today to cultivate or share a heart of gratitude? Link here to your blog entry!

Entry filed under: Devotions and Thoughts, Holidays, Life. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

27 Days of Thanksgiving – Day 8 27 Days of Thanksgiving – Day 11

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Feeds


